CAMEO of this and any other year

me and earl and the dying girlHimself and I watched “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl” recently.

BLURB

Seventeen-year-old Greg has managed to become part of every social group at his Pittsburgh high school without having any friends, but his life changes when his mother forces him to befriend Rachel, a girl he once knew in Hebrew school who has leukemia.

TRAILER

[youtube https://youtu.be/2qfmAllbYC8]

For the record, I’d wholeheartedly recommend this.

It’s funny and clever and sad and thought provoking in the best possible way. Someone asked me if it was like The fault in Our Stars – as the subject matter is essentially teenagers with terminal illnesses and so on; but tonally it honestly felt more like 50/50 or Juno. Part of the ‘When unexpected things happen to decent, funny, smart people’ genera.

However, this isn’t a review.

* * * * * SPOILERS  * * * * *

One of the stand out moments for me was a wonderfully unexpected cameo by Hugh Jackman.

I’m loathe to spoil it utterly by going into all the details…but I want to so badly!!!

If you’ve seen the film and know what I’m talking about, drop me a tweet for a virtual high 5!!

Leave a Reply

