This music video clip portrays sexual assaults against women and the aftermath of the incident.

 “The following contains graphic content that may be emotionally unsettling but reflects the reality of what is happening daily on college campuses.”

A portion of proceeds from the sale of the song will be donated to organizations helping survivors of sexual assault.

A few days ago, Lady Gaga released the single Till it happens to you. Co-written by LG and Diane Warren; the song has been recorded for the soundtrack for The Hunting Ground – a documentary on sexual assault on US university campuses.

Warren said of the song and Gaga’s contributions:

I heard about [the film] and it just really touched me, and she had stuff in her life that she could relate to. Gaga is one of the most talented artists I have worked with in my life and I’m excited about doing more with her… There are a lot of levels to the song. There’s something very vulnerable about it and something very defiant about it, especially the way [Gaga] sings it. The first verse is vulnerable—’You tell me its going to get better?’—and the second verse comes in and it builds. Really? It gets better? No. You don’t know until it happens to you…

Warren also added that the song’s message was universal in nature and relatable to any loss faced in life (from wikipedia)

BLURB

From the Academy Award-nominated filmmaking team behind THE INVISIBLE WAR, comes a startling exposé of sexual assault on U.S. campuses, institutional cover-ups and the brutal social toll on victims and their families.

TRAILER

LYRICS

You tell me hold your head up
Hold your head up and be strong
Cause when you fall you gotta get up
You gotta get up and move on

Tell me how the hell could you talk,
How could you talk
Losing till you walk where I walk,
This is no joke

Till It happens to you, you don’t know how it feels, how it feels
Until it happens to you, you won’t know, it won’t be real
No it won’t real
I know how it feels

Till your world burns and crashes
Till you’re at the end, the end of your rope
Till you’re standing in my shoes
I don’t wanna hear a thing or two from you, from you, from you

Till it happens to you
You don’t know how I feel, how I feel, how I feel
Until it happens to you, you won’t know, it won’t be real
No it won’t real
I know how it feels
Till it happens you
Happens to you
Happens to you
Happens to you
Happens to you
Till it happens you
You won’t know how I feel

MUSIC VIDEO – Lady Gaga – Till it happens to you

Leave a Reply

