SPEECH – to mark Leeds Pride

leeds-pride-logoWishing everyone at Leeds Pride a terrific day.

Here hoping that the weather holds and the party is epic!

You can catch up on the action by following the link #LeedsPride or send your updates to @LeedsPride

Today, I couldn’t help but think of the Sense8 character Nomi – who blogs in the second episode about why she attends pride.

Nomi Marks is a transgender hacktivist played by trans star Jamie Clayton – and has the distinction being one of the rare trans characters on television whose story lines do not revolve around that fact. It is part of her history, her background…but not the sole interesting aspect to her and does not direct the path the character takes across the first season.

Incidentally, one of the co-creators of Sense8 is Lana Wachowski – herself a transgender woman.

It’s a beautiful speech from a unique perspective and one that many people – from diverse backgrounds, irrespective of age, gender or race – have related to.

The Full Speech

Nomi:

I’ve been thinking about my life. And all of the mistakes that I’ve made. The ones that stay with me, the ones that I regret, are the ones that I made because of fear

For a long time I was afraid to be  who I am because I was taught by my parents there’s something wrong with someone like me. Something offensive. Something you would avoid maybe even pity. Something that you would never love.

My mom, she’s a fan of Saint Thomas of Aquinas. She calls pride a sin. Saint Thomas saw pride as the queen of the seven deadlies. She saw it as the ultimate gateway sin that would turn you quickly into a sinaholic.

But hating isn’t a sin on that list. Neither is shame. I was afraid of this parade because I wanted so badly to be a part of it. So today I’m marching for that part of me that was much too afraid to march. And for all the people who can’t march. The people living lives like I did. Today, I march to remember that I’m not just a me. I’m also a we. We march with pride.

(almost an aside) So go fuck yourself, Aquinas.

 

Leave a Reply

