HOME TOURISTt* – Swinsty Resevoir

In an effect to trick myself that Spring is in the air, I’ve headed out every single time that the sun has shone – no matter how briefly.

Last week, I struck gold.

The Fewston and Swinsty Reservoirs are in the Washburn Valley, just part Otley and are maintained and operated by Yorkshire Water. Swinsty was completed in 1878.

According to wikipedia;

Beneath the waters of the reservoir are the remains of New Hall, originally a home to the Fairfax family, whose members included Ferdinando Fairfax and the poet Edward Fairfax.

Women in the nearby village of Timble were twice tried at York for witchcraft on the accusation of Edward, who suspected them of possessing his two daughters. Neighbouring Fewston Reservoir covers another Fairfax family home, Cragg Hall

Adds a certain air of mystery to the place, don’t you think?

swinsty 01

 

It was a gorgeous trip. I walked one full route around Swinsty, which is 6.8km (according to my app). The footpath was in excellent condition and I encountered a variety of ages and abilities enjoying their time outdoors.

IMG_2354

“Forests were the first temples of the Divinity, and it is in the forests that men have grasped the first idea of architecture.” – Francois-Rene de Chateaubriand, Genie du Christianisme, 1802

 

I love the many different aspects to Swinsty – from forest, to lake views, to (mild) incline. Also, there are a number of personal touches which sent my imagination into overdrive.

IMG_2356IMG_2357

I did and thanks Steve and Carol!

 

IMG_2358

I will arise and go now, for always night and day I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore; While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey, I hear it in the deep heart’s core. WB Yeats


IMG_2361
*As I live in Leeds, I consider myself to have three homes now, so I consider this as part of my home tourist treks!

Leave a Reply

