She walks and (TED) Talks. Walk. Walk. Walk. (TED) Talk. Talk. Talk.

I’ve been walking along the nearby canal for the last few months and loving it.

When I’m in good form; I chatter with the geese and ducks and swans (assuming there are no other people about); listen to the water and the birds and gaze around me, taking in the world.

IMG_1998

However, sometimes I have days (weeks, months…DECADES!!!) where any longer than 10 seconds in my own head space is not a good thing. On those days, I’ve started listening to TED Talks.

TED (according to its website)

TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). TED began in 1984 as a conference where Technology, Entertainment and Design converged, and today covers almost all topics — from science to business to global issues — in more than 100 languages. Meanwhile, independently run TEDx events help share ideas in communities around the world.

There are thousands of TED Talks available and I have just been randomly listening to any that catch my eye. Today, I walked my way through Alain de Botton – a noted philosopher and author – who was discussing

A Kinder Gentler Philosophy of Success

 

Not only enjoyable and funny, I hope that I will be able to take onboard some of the ideas suggested – particularly regarding the ways in which I define success and failure in my life. If himself is correct (heaven forfend!) I am on occasion possibly kinder to others than to myself, a perspective shift might well ‘right’ that!

Leave a Reply

