stand by me

To be honest, I’m not sure why this film has been randomly popping into my head recently. Perhaps it was seeing Jerry O’Connell all growd up (and so cheerfully, so delightfully corrupt) in the recent #VeronicaMarsMovie. Regardless, I thought sharing the trailer with y’all might help stop my brain from reciting quotes in increasingly dodgy accents.

Stand by Me was one of those films that everyone I grew up with had watched and loved. Over and over again. To this day, I don’t know anyone (of roughly my age anyway) who doesn’t feel some vestige of affection for it.

BLURB:

In a small woodsy Oregon town, a group of friends–sensitive Gordie (Wil Wheaton), tough guy Chris (River Phoenix), flamboyant Teddy (Corey Feldman), and scaredy-cat Vern (Jerry O’Connell)–are in search of a missing teenager’s body. Wanting to be heroes in each other’s and their hometown’s eyes, they set out on an unforgettable two-day trek that turns into an odyssey of self-discovery. They sneak smokes, tell tall tales, cuss ’cause it’s cool and band together when the going gets tough. When they encounter the town’s knife-wielding hoods who are also after the body, the boys discover a strength they never knew they had. 

Stand by Me is a rare and special film about friendship and the indelible experiences of growing up. Filled with humor and suspense, Stand by Me is based on the novella ‘The Body’ by Stephen King.

Different Seasons was the first Stephen King book that I ever really enjoyed. Despite my best efforts, I’m not a huge fan of horror novels and the three I’ve previously encountered were definitely in that mould – It, Needful Things and…something else. (I’m not awesome with names)

Each of the seasons – novellas – in the book are beautifully and delicately crafted and it’s no surprise to me that three of the four have been released on the big screen. Perhaps the best known and arguably most loved is sleeper hit The Shawshank Redemption. Apt Pupil – a dark and evocative underrated  thriller – featured Ian McKellan at his creepiest alongside a fantastic Brad Renfro (whom I have loved ever since The Client).  The Body – obviously was Stand By Me – a stellar cast, wonderful script and nostalgic triumph. While the fourth book The Breathing Method will likely never be transferred onto the silver screen, it is wonderfully offbeat and well worth a read.

Whatever the core theme, the character are powerfully human and I wholeheartedly recommend this book to everyone – regardless of whether fans of Stephen King or not.

Gordie Lachance: Alright, alright, Mickey’s a mouse, Donald’s a duck, Pluto’s a dog. What’s Goofy?

The Writer: I never had any friends later on like the ones I had when I was twelve. Jesus, does anyone?

Teddy Duchamp: I’m gonna rip your head off and shit down your neck!

Vern: You think Mighty Mouse could beat up Superman?
Teddy Duchamp: What are you cracked?
Vern: Why not? I saw the other day, he was carrying 5 elephants in one hand.
Teddy Duchamp: Boy, you don’t know nothin’, Mighty Mouse is a cartoon, Superman is a real guy, no way a cartoon could beat up a real guy.
Vern: Yeah, maybe you’re right… would be a good fight though!
Teddy Duchamp: Tssh.

 
 
 
 
Image found online – I couldn’t find a credit – if you know, drop me a line!
TRAILER – Stand by Me

Leave a Reply

